The Minimum Limits of Auto Insurance in the State Of FloridaPosted: November 7, 2014
The minimum limits of auto insurance in the State Of Florida a valid Florida license plate and four wheels are:
$10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) also called Florida No Fault Insurance
This policy covers you in the case of an accident, your fault or the other drivers. PIP will also cover passengers who do not have PIP as long they do not have a vehicle registered. Those that have their own PIP coverage can use their own coverage. Other coverage includes, pedestrians being struck and suffering an injury by a vehicle, your child on the school bus in case of injury, if you are in someone else vehicle involved in an accident.
The $10,000 breakdown is 80% of your medical, 60% of lost wages and 100% of household services for a standard policy. For an extended policy is it 100% medical, 80% of lost wages and 100% for household services. Additional Coverage for PIP is available with 100% medical, 80% of lost wages and 100% of household services up to a higher limit then the standard policy. The extended and additional coverage is only for the person with the policy.
$10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL)
This is for damages you or members of your family cause to someones vehicle in an accident. You are liable for not only personal injury but property damage as well.
$10,000 Bodily Injury Liability for one person in any accident
$20,000 Bodily Injury Liability two or more people in any accident
Bodily Injury is not required at this time for a standard driver, but is a very necessary coverage. Bodily Injury Protection covers you in case of a serious accident that may cause sever injury or even death. It will cover you and your family members who live with you and drive someone else’s vehicle. You will also have coverage for representation in the case where there is a lawsuit.
Required Bodily Injury Protection – If you have been convicted of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) you will be required to have Bodily Injury Protection on your auto policy. After October 1, 2007 the least required is $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. Once you get your driving privileges back, you must carry Bodily Injury Protection for up to 3 years.
According to Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law you are financially responsible for damages and injuries you cause in an accident. PIP and PDL may not be enough coverage and having Bodily Injury Protection can take over what the others may not be able to cover in case of an accident.
Even if you have Full Coverage Auto Insurance, ask if Bodily Injury is included.
The benefits of having auto insurance is not just coverage to help protect you and your family with injuries and damages caused by an accident. As well coverage could protect you against financial loss, repairing or replacing your vehicle if stolen or damaged.