What To Do If Your In An Auto Accident

ID-10076578Your fault not your fault, accidents happen. As much as we prepare, getting auto insurance, wearing our seat belt, taking a defensive driving course, we also need to be prepared for what to do on the scene when an accident happens to you.

Immediately stop your vehicle or do not move it from the place it has stopped.

As hard as it may be at this time, keep calm. The leg work you do at the scene will help you later in case of any disputes.

Check yourself and your passengers for injuries and if so call 911

Check the other vehicle for injuries to report them as well if they have not called.

Call the police and report the accident right away ( most auto insurance policies require notification of police within a specified time period if the accident is a hit and run)

Get names, addresses, telephone numbers, and driver’s license numbers from all drivers as well as license plate(s) and vehicle identification numbers.

Ask to see driver’s license(s) and vehicle registration(s) to verify that the information is accurate.

Get names, addresses, and telephone numbers of other passengers and any witnesses.

If you have a camera or a camera on your cell phone, use it. Take different angles of the accident with all the cars involved, damage to your vehicle, the accident scene for traffic lights, signs,etc.

If the owner of a damaged car or damaged property cannot be located, leave a note with the names and addresses of the driver and owners of the involved cars.

• If anyone is injured or the vehicle damage exceeds $750.00, you must report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days.

Failure to notify the DMV may result in the suspension of your driver’s license.

Notify your agent and/or your insurance company right away.

You should also be aware of things NOT TO DO

Do Not – Argue with other drivers and passengers. Tell your story to the police and your insurance company.

Do Not – Sign statements regarding fault or promises to pay for damage.

Do Not – Sign anything releasing the other party from further responsibility. Example: If another party offers to pay your deductible.

By releasing the other party, you jeopardize your insurance company’s right, which may lead to the company may refusing to pay for damage to your car.

Photo Courtesy of Naypong at FreeDigitalPhotos.net


Texting While Driving In Florida? You Are Breaking The Law

carcrashWe wrote a previous article back in July that come October 1, 2013 texting and driving in Florida will be illegal. This means that you cannot manually text while driving,  but the law does stipulate that you can text while stopped at traffic lights. This law is also considered a secondary offense which means that you would need to be pulled over for another offense to be ticketed.

This is how the seat belt law started and today it is a primary offense and if you are seen not wearing a seat belt you can be pulled over and given a ticket. So perhaps texting and driving may someday become a primary offense.

According to the  National Safety Council

1,600,000 accidents per year are to blame for texting and driving

5 seconds is the minimal amount of time your attention is taken away from the road while texing and driving. That equals  driving the length of a football field driving at 55 mph

A person texting and driving is about 6 times more likely to cause an accident than driving intoxicated

See all the statistic Here – very informative!

If you must answer a call, get a hands free phone. If you must text, pull over.

Stay safe on the road,

Call us today to get your insurance questions answered. 863-453-3903 or

visit our website budgetbirite.com fill out the form and we will have an agent contact you within 24 hours.

We find insurance that meets every budget!

Ashley Bishop Owner/Agent
Budget Bi Rite Insurance, Inc

Serving All of Florida

Thank you freedigitalphotos.net

Texting A Driver and Causing An Accident – Is the Sender Responsible?

cellphoneCnn.com had an article this morning of an accident occurring while the driver was texting with his girlfriend, an accident that could have been avoided. This happened in New Jersey and now New Jersey is considering making the person sending the text to the driver,  responsible for any injuries this conversation causes in the case of an accident.

According to the article “62 texts were sent” between the couple that day. “Seventeen seconds after the driver sent a text back to his girlfriend he was dialing 911, he had just hit a couple driving a motorcycle  head on causing severe injuries.(read article here)  The couple on the motorcycle wanted the girlfriend  texting  her boyfriend, knowing he  was driving, made accountable.

I do not believe in texting and driving or trying to talk on a cell phone while driving. It only takes a second to look at your phone and get distracted. If you must answer a call, get a hands free phone. If you must text, pull over.

See article here about Texting and Driving  in Florida,  come this October 2013 it will be illegal.

What do you think of this law and if it passes, should it be in all states? Leave a comment…

Stay safe on the road, stay off your phone while driving.

Call us today to get your insurance questions answered. 863-453-3903

or visit our website budgetbirite.com fill out the form and we will have an agent contact you within 24 hours.

We find insurance that meets every budget!

Ashley Bishop Owner/Agent
Budget Bi Rite Insurance, Inc

Serving All of Florida


Summer Vacation Money Saving Tips

roadtripfamilyPlanning your summer road trip vacation on our last article was very informative and we also wanted to add some tips in this article for saving money if you are flying or renting a car for travel.

Air Travel

Airfare rates go up and down on a daily basis it seems, but a little research can save you a bundle and get the cheapest rates.  I came across TravelZoo.com and found cheap flights not only for this week but also for the next 90 days.  You can use this website to help plan your trip and see what days or weeks are best for your savings.

Car Rental

It’s the extra’s that can cost your more, but with a bit of thinking ahead you can keep that money in your pocket for travel. Rental car companies can charge you for a GPS system and child safety seats. Bring your own. Considering what type of cell phone you have, there are apps for GPS that you can download into your phone. If you are not sure which one will work for you contact your phone provider for assistance.

If you have a child, you already have a car seat for them. Bring it along when renting a car for travel, as many rental companies allow this.

If you are traveling state to state or city to city you will probably access  toll roads that use electronic toll systems (e-tolls).  These toll systems are to help traffic flow better with out having to stop at toll booth.  You may want to get a toll pass (SunPass) here in Florida so you are assured that your tolls will be paid for ahead of time. Rental companies do offer this service and charge a daily fee and most likely the same pass.

Stopping for a bite to eat

You can save a bundle on your meals for kids by going to MyKidsEatFree.com. This site will show you a list of restaurants that offer free meals for kids under a certain age. Some on certain days and some all the time.

For adults, check out restaurants along your route by going to their websites. Most have menu’s and coupons or days for discounts.  A little research ahead or using your cell phone can save you lots.

Happy Traveling

Call us today to get your questions answered. 863-453-3903

or visit our website budgetbirite.com fill out the form and we will have an agent contact you within 24 hours.

We find insurance that meets every budget!

Ashley Bishop Owner/Agent

Budget Bi Rite Insurance, Inc

Serving All of Florida

thank you http://www.freedigitalphotos.net for providing the photo.

Save Yourself the Trouble! Have Bodily Injury Protection on Your Auto Policy

Auto Insurance Tip: What Liability Coverage does for youBodily Injury (BI) Protection is not required to obtain a vehicle registration in Florida, what is required is PIP (Personal Injury Protection) and Property Damage. As soon as you put that vehicle on the road, you are now liable for any accident and injuries that you may cause, and that is where Bodily Injury Protection comes in.

Bodily Injury  Protection covers the other parties  injuries or death in case of an auto accident which you are responsible. It can also protect you in case of a lawsuit and legal defense. This coverage is not always required to carry auto insurance but more and more insurance companies will not sell you a policy without including it. With out (BI) you will have to have $30,000 or more tucked away  in case something does happen, to pay out of pocket for medical bills, loss of income, pain and suffering, and more, to the injured party.  So does it make more sense to include that in your auto policy?

Yes, it does and here ‘s whys:

Not only will you have to hand over out of your pocket funds to the injured party, but without (BI) on your auto policy, you will have your drivers license suspended, and have to carry an  SR-22 certificate with to your policy for 3 years. Without the SR-22 you will not get your license back and be able to be an insured driver.

An SR-22 is a certificate used by the insurer to file the motorist’s policy with the state. You’ll need an SR-22  if you’ve had a problem with your drivers license, caused bodily injury to another person in an auto accident without coverage or not carrying auto insurance at all. This is a major part of your journey to get back the privilege of driving.

The SR-22 form is submitted by your auto insurance company to the Florida’s Bureau of Financial Responsibility. This ensures that you have met the state of Florida’s liability limits. The state requires you to carry minimum liability limits of $30,000 in bodily injury protection per person. You will pay more for auto insurance because of marks on your driving record, plus you’ll pay a filing fee to submit the SR-22.

The only way you will not be responsible for damages and not have to put out all the money for the injured party is for them to sign a release form saying you are not liable.  Let me see, if you were in an accident and needed medical attention, time off from work because of the injuries, loss of money for medical bills and time off from work, plus time to recuperate, would you sign this form?

Another thought to ponder, the next time you want to take a friends vehicle out for a spin, to the store, your job or just around town, ask if they have bodily injury protection on their policy.  If they do not, and you do not own a vehicle (obviously you do not carry auto insurance) you the uninsured driver will be responsible in case of an accident causing (BI) to another party.  You will be required to take out an SR-22 certificate under a named non owner policy for 3 years to keep your license.

If you decide to take a friends vehicle out for a spin, and the owner of the vehicle does not have bodily injury protection on their vehicle, but you do have a vehicle and are insured with bodily injury protection, in the incident of an accident with (BI) the injured party would be covered under your insurance policy.

Save yourself the trouble! Be sure you have Bodily Injury Protection on your policy.

If you are required to file an SR-22, you will have to pay more for your auto insurance, but there’s no need to pay more than necessary. We can help you find the policy you need and assist you with filing for your SR-22.

Have Questions?

Call us today to get your questions answered. 863-453-3903

or visit our website budgetbirite.com fill out the form and we will have an agent contact you within 24 hours.

We find insurance that meets every budget!

Ashley Bishop Owner/Agent

Budget Bi Rite Insurance, Inc

Serving all of Florida